Marks & Spencer Group Share Price (MKS) - Buy MKS Shares

View your Watch List Add MKS to your Watch List
Time period: Moving average: Compare to:
Marks & Spencer Group (MKS) share price history chart
Current Price:
316.00p
on 27-12-2017 at 09:16:30
Change: 2.50p rise 0.80 %
Buy: 316.20p
Sell: 315.90p

Marks and Spencer has long been a British institution. Since its creation in 1894, Marks and Spencer has been a high street staple with almost 600 shops in the UK and 240 in more than 30 countries around the world. Marks and Spencer is also the largest clothing retailer in Britain and many of its domestic stores also have a food range made famous by a nationwide TV advert campaign. More recently though, Marks and Spencer has branched out into homewares, furniture and technology.

Some of Marks and Spencers' peak years were in the mid-nineties as its profits soared and it became the first shop to reach a pre-tax profit of over 1 billion pounds. However, in hindsight its then owner may have been pushing too hard for profit margins and in the early 2000s, the company took a nosedive with a 2.8m net profit in March 2001. In March 2008, the net profit had increased to 821m. This massive growth is in part due to the recruitment of younger designers to make the shop more appealing to a younger market. Also, the food side was expanded and has gained a reputation as producing high-quality food. On February 28 2008 the Company acquired 50% of the Marks and Spencer Marinopoulos B.V. On March 20 2008 the Company acquired 51% of the COMS a.s.

Despite a new found popularity, share prices have taken a plunge during mid 2008 due to conservative shopping during the credit crunch. Current revenue stands at 9.06 billion pounds and net income stands at 651.70 million.

Marks & Spencer Group (MKS, MKS.L, LON:MKS) Price Details (LSE MAIN Listed Equity)
Last Trade: Sell 640 at 316.00p Days Range: 315.70 - 317.80p
Day's Volume: 582,737 52wk Range: 297.80 - 395.50p
Last Close: 313.50p Market Capitalisation:* £ 5.14 bn
Open: 316.30p VWAP: 316.58p
ISIN: GB0031274896 Shares in Issue: 1.63 bn
Sector: General Retailers Listed in: UK All Shares, European first 300, UK 100, UK 350

UK FTSE Opens to Muted Trading

News - Tuesday, November 07, 2017

Following the publication of the latest monthly shops survey, the FTSE 100 got off to a muted start, gaining just six points during early trading. Analysts had predicted a stronger performance, following the trends of the Asian and Wall Street markets.

FTSE 100 Opens Lower On Thursday

News - Thursday, September 14, 2017

The FTSE 100 opened on a weak note, in spite of a strong performance from Next, and a sympathy increase from rival Marks and Spencer.

Buy/SellVolumePriceTrade CodeTrade TypeTrade Time
Sell640316.00p1804123091520423Automated Trade09:16:30 - 27/12
Buy1403316.20p1804123091520420Automated Trade09:16:29 - 27/12
Buy651316.20p1804123091520419Automated Trade09:16:29 - 27/12
Buy581316.10p1804123091520415Automated Trade09:16:26 - 27/12
Buy800316.00p1804123091520414Automated Trade09:16:26 - 27/12
Sell640315.90p1804123091520412Automated Trade09:16:26 - 27/12
Time period : to Frequency :
Date Open High Low Close Volume
26 Dec 2017 (Tue) 312.60 317.60 311.15 313.50 2,737,664
25 Dec 2017 (Mon) 312.60 317.60 311.15 313.50 2,737,664
22 Dec 2017 (Fri) 312.60 317.60 311.15 313.50 2,737,664
21 Dec 2017 (Thu) 309.40 313.10 309.00 312.50 4,820,864
20 Dec 2017 (Wed) 310.30 312.50 308.00 310.50 10,744,016
19 Dec 2017 (Tue) 305.40 311.10 304.78 309.00 7,971,584
18 Dec 2017 (Mon) 305.50 306.20 302.40 305.00 8,179,813
15 Dec 2017 (Fri) 308.60 308.90 302.70 303.80 13,561,204
14 Dec 2017 (Thu) 312.00 312.59 308.10 309.30 6,998,152
13 Dec 2017 (Wed) 310.60 315.30 310.40 311.90 4,822,370
12 Dec 2017 (Tue) 315.30 316.10 310.40 314.20 5,550,843
11 Dec 2017 (Mon) 319.30 320.40 313.80 319.00 2,903,264
8 Dec 2017 (Fri) 319.00 321.50 316.10 318.00 4,797,415
7 Dec 2017 (Thu) 319.20 320.90 315.70 319.00 4,631,045
6 Dec 2017 (Wed) 315.30 319.60 312.00 319.00 7,147,255
5 Dec 2017 (Tue) 316.60 325.10 313.90 316.20 8,690,663
4 Dec 2017 (Mon) 311.30 317.20 305.60 309.40 8,025,399
1 Dec 2017 (Fri) 312.30 313.20 307.10 313.20 5,016,068
30 Nov 2017 (Thu) 312.10 318.00 308.40 312.40 10,770,364
29 Nov 2017 (Wed) 302.60 313.20 302.50 301.00 14,266,006
28 Nov 2017 (Tue) 300.00 303.00 298.97 300.00 5,021,335
27 Nov 2017 (Mon) 297.10 301.80 296.80 300.00 6,944,998


SSL